Skip to main content

The Fly Dressers' Guild

Established 1967
About Us
What's new here?
Annual Raffle - 50th
Fly Tying Workshop
News & Events
Joining or renewing?
Guild Awards Scheme
Fly Tying Competition
Fishing Competitions
John Watts
AGM Bank Competition
Spring Bank Competition
Big Fish Competition
Big Fish Entries
Previous Winners
Members' Area
Contact Us
Site Map
Admin Login
Fishing Competitions
In response to members' requests for more opportunities to fish together, the Guild is now running three annual friendly fly fishing competitions as well as the Big Fish Competition.  

The intention behind all these competitions to for members to get to know and learn from each other.  Camaraderie is much more important than results.  So if competition fishing isn't your scene, try coming to one of these events anyway, to enjoy fishing your way and meet up with fellow members of the Guild.  
To find out more about each competition, click on the links below or on the navigation menu on the left:

The John Watts
Our longest running competition, fished from boats, now in its 41st year.

The AGM Bank Competition 2016

Introduced in 2012, when the AGM was held at Eyebrook and repeated since 2013 at Lechlade and Bushy Leaze, this is very much a friendly event, intended to encourage attendance at the AGM and allow members an opportunity to fish together.

We look forward to the fifth edition this year - again at Lechlade, on Sunday 6th November

The Spring Bank Competition

We know that the weather at the time of the AGM can be less somewhat miserable, so - ever the optimists - we introduced another bank fishing competition for members in the Spring of 2014.  The 2017 event will be held on Sunday 23rd April and the entry form and full rules may be seen by clicking on the link below:

The Big Fish Competition
An opportunity to record your largest catch and the fly you caught it with, across a variety of species.  Note that some of the newer categories allow for catch and release. 










Last modified on 25 September, 2016