Skip to main content

The Fly Dressers' Guild

Established 1967
About Us
What's new here?
Annual Raffle - 50th
News & Events
Joining or renewing?
Guild Awards Scheme
Fly Tying Competition
Fishing Competitions
John Watts
AGM Bank Competition
Spring Bank Competition
Big Fish Competition
Big Fish Entries
Previous Winners
Members' Area
Contact Us
Site Map
Admin Login
The John Watts Competition
The John Watts Competition is an annual fly fishing competition organised by The Fly Dressers' Guild for its members.  It has been held at Grafham Water in Cambridgeshire on the Saturday before the August Bank Holiday Monday.
The competition is contested by teams of four members.  Originally, the teams were organised and put forward exclusively by Branches, but the event has now been opened up to individual Guild members as well.  The competition is fished from boats to fishery rules (with certain exceptions), with a 12 fish limit - the first four fish being retained, the remainder to be carefully released. 
The winners are the team which land the most fish - they are awarded the John Watts Trophy.  The runners up are awarded the Falkirk Trophy. 
The Wessex Shield is awarded to the angler with the heaviest fish, and the Hertfordshire Shield to the angler with the heaviest bag.
This is intended to be a friendly competition that allows Guild members to get together for a day’s fishing and meet members from other Branches and other parts of the country, or renew acquaintances made in previous years.

John Watts Trophy



Falkirk Trophy




Wessex Shield



Hertfordshire Shield




2017 Competition - 42nd John Watts Trophy - 26 August 2016, Graffham Water
For full information on the 2017 competition, please click here.  For your entry form, please click here

For the results of the 2017 competition, please click hereNEW (Sep 2017)

Look forward to seeing you on the Saturday of the 2018 Bank Holiday weekend!

2016 Competition
For the results of the 2016 competition, please click here.

2015 Competition
For the results of the 2015 competition, please click here.

2014 Competition
For the results of the 2014 competition, please click here.
2013 Competition
For a report on the 2013 competition and results, please click here.
2012 Competition
For a report on the 2012 competition and full results, please click here.    
Past Winners
For reports of the 2011 and 2010 competitions and details of previous winners, please see our John Watts Winners page. 
Last modified on 03 September, 2017